Announcement from The Search Committee 12/7/18

message from the search committee

Dear Wesley School Community,

The search for a new Head of School is well underway, and we are pleased to report that candidates are being recruited actively. The deadline for candidate submissions is February 15, 2019. The Search Committee will review all candidates prior to inviting three finalists to visit Wesley in order to meet with the community. We anticipate reviewing the responses to our Position Statement beginning in mid-January, with final candidates to be interviewed on campus by the end of April 2019.

The community survey conducted by our search firm had a very high participation rate, with a total of 215 responses. There was unanimity among all respondents about the school’s strengths: a unique sense of community, the quality and commitment of the Faculty, and the breadth of program offerings for students. People appreciate and value the school’s commitment to diversity and inclusivity, the family-centered culture, and the “small town feel” of the school within its urban surroundings. Wesley is clearly seen by its community members as unique and special in comparison with many other Los Angeles independent schools, with a broad range of families from a great variety of backgrounds and experiences.

The Search Committee is very pleased to see our shared sense of the school’s history and culture confirmed by the survey results. We are confident that the next Head of School will embrace and preserve the existing values of the Wesley community while guiding the school forward with enhanced programs, well-supported Faculty and a continuing commitment to the affordable, high quality education that Wesley has always offered. We firmly believe that our on-going efforts to build on the excellence we have achieved in the past will lead to positive results in the future.

We wish you all the very best during the Holiday Season, and we look forward to reporting on our progress in the New Year.


David Hookom and Robert Ivison
Search Committee Co-chairs